Transport and Environment Committee

10.00am, Thursday 10 August 2017

Appointments to Working Groups – 2017/18

Item number 7.5

Report number Executive/routine

Wards

Executive Summary

The Transport and Environment Committee is required to annually re-appoint the membership of its Working Groups for 2017/18.



Report

Appointments to Working Groups – 2017-18

1. Recommendations

- 1.1 To defer the reappoint of the Future Transport Working Group until the next meeting of the Transport and Environment Committee meeting in October 2017 to allow reforms to the remit of the Working Group based on changes to policy.
- 1.2 To agree to replace the Transport Projects Working Group with the Central Edinburgh Development Working Group and approve the revised remit and membership of the Working Group as described in the report.
- 1.3 To appoint the membership of the Working Groups for 2017/18 as detailed in Appendix 1 to the report, apart from the Future Transport Working Group.

2. Background

- 2.1 The Transport and Environment Committee on 7 June 2016 had appointed membership to its Working Groups for 2016/17.
- 2.2 Policy related to the Future Transport Working Group may require some reform in the future and it is recommended that the reappointment of this working group is deferred until the next Transport and Environment Committee meeting in October 2017.
- 2.3 It is proposed that the Transport Projects Working Group is replaced with a Central Edinburgh Development Working Group. The remit of the Working Group would be to review and consult with lead elected members from the Transport and Environment Committee, Housing and Economy Committee and the Planning Committee on major projects in and around the centre of Edinburgh and to discuss matters relating to city centre development. It is therefore proposed that the elected member representation on the Working Group would comprise the Convener and Vice Convener of the Transport and Environment Committee and Housing and Economy Committee, the Convener of the Planning Committee, and representation from opposition political groups.
- 2.4 The Committee is requested to appoint the membership of its Working Groups for 2017/18, apart from the Future Transport Working Group.

3. Main report

3.1 Not applicable.

4. Measures of success

4.1 Not applicable.

5. Financial impact

5.1 Not applicable.

6. Risk, policy, compliance and governance impact

6.1 Not applicable.

7. Equalities impact

7.1 Not applicable.

8. Sustainability impact

8.1 Not applicable.

9. Consultation and engagement

9.1 Not applicable.

10. Background reading/external references

10.1 None.

Andrew Kerr

Chief Executive

Contact: Veronica MacMillan, Team Leader, Committee Services

E-mail: veronica.macmillan@edinburgh.gov.uk | Tel: 0131 529 4283

Active Travel Forum (Incorporates the Active Travel Forum, the Active Travel forum for Cycling and the Active Travel Forum for Walking) – 1 Member (Convener of the Transport and Environment Committee)	
Councillor Macinnes (Convener)	
Carbon, Climate and Sustainability Working Group – 5 members – Convener and Vice-Convener of the Transport and Environment Committee, 1 Conservative, 1 Green and 1 SLD.	
Councillor Macinnes (Convener)	Councillor
Councillor Doran (Vice-Convener)	Councillor
Councillor	
Future Transport Working Group – to defer appointing the Working Group until the next meeting of the Transport and Environment Committee in October 2017 – 5 members – 1 SNP, 1 Conservative, 1 Labour, 1 Green and 1 SLD.	
Councillor	Councillor
Councillor	Councillor
Councillor	
Local Access Forum – 1 member – Convener of the Transport and Environment Committee.	
Councillor Macinnes (Convener)	
Central Edinburgh Development Working Group – 9 members – Convener and Vice Convener of the Transport and Environment Committee, Housing and Economy Committee, Convener of the Planning Committee, 2 Conservative, 1 Green and 1 SLD.	
Councillor Macinnes	Councillor Doran
Councillor Barrie	Councillor Lezley Marion Cameron
Councillor Ritchie	Councillor
Councillor	Councillor
Councillor	Councillor

Tram All Party Oversight Group - 10 members - Leader and Deputy Leader of the Council, Convener and Vice-Convener of the Transport and Environment Committee, Opposition Group Leaders, Opposition Transport Spokespersons. Councillor McVey **Councillor Burgess** Councillor Day Councillor Aldridge **Councillor Macinnes** Councillor Councillor Doran Councillor Councillor Whyte Councillor Transport Forum - 5 members - 1 SNP, 1 Conservative, 1 Labour, 1 Green, 1 SLD Councillor Councillor Councillor Councillor Councillor **Zero Waste Cross Party Cross Council Group** – 5 members – 1 SNP, 1 Conservatives, 1 Labour, 1 Green, 1 SLD Councillor Councillor Councillor Councillor Councillor